The Jawaballs Video of the Month!

Warhammer 40k Black Templars: Assault Pods!!!???

Soo, after looking at the Black Templar codex and discussing the issue with my friend. It seems that GW may have missed something OR intentionally set a precedent. Under the Black Templar codex, Drop Pods are listed as Open-topped under Type. In the 5th edition rulebook, models may assault out of opened-topped transports. Here is my new BT list taking this rule into consideration:

HQ:
Marshal 80
Power Sword 15
Bolt Pistol 1
Holy Orb of Antioch 10

Emperors Champion:
Champion 90
Accept Any Challenge 50

Reclusiarch Chaplain 95
Bolt Pisol 1
Melta Bombs 5

Troops:

Crusader Squad 1:
Initiates x5 80
Neophytes x5 50
Drop Pod 30
Power Weapon 10

Crusader Squad 2:
Initiates x5 80
Neophytes x5 50
Drop Pod 30
Power Weapon 10

Crusader Squad 3:
Initiates x5 80
Neophytes x5 50
Drop Pod 30
Power Weapon 10

Crusader Squad 4:
Initiates x5 80
Neophytes x5 50
Drop Pod 30
Power Weapon 10

Crusader Squad 5:
Initiates x5 80
Neophytes x4 40
Drop Pod 30
Champion attached

Elite:
Sword Brethren Squad 1:
Sword Breth x9 171
Drop Pod 30
Power Fist 15
Furious Charge
Attach Commander

Sword Brethren Squad 2:
Sword Breth x9 171
Drop Pod 30
Flamer 6
Furious Charge
Attach Chaplain

Sword Brethren Terminators 1:
Sword Brethren Terminators x5 200
Furious Charge 15
Drop Pod 30

Total 1750

Hmmmm.

16 comments:

jawaballs said...

So what ya all think of that? It has tank busting capability, all sorts of assault, bolt pistol fire power, and 4 troop choices. Of course the Sword Brethren can be swapped out, the commanders can be given terminator armor, tanks can be added etc. Furious Charge means that 3 of the squads will assault before most units in the game, and preferred enemy means that every model will reroll to hits! They can do without Frag Grenades because of the 5th edition counter assault rule, and all characters can attach to and embark with squads before deployment according to 5th edition. You can give the Crusader Squads bolters and or bolt pistol/ ccw. So you can choose what to have for weapons. This list sounds pretty damn sweet!

jawaballs said...

Make that FIVE troop choices.

Aldonis said...

They clarified this on the DA FAQ - which reads just like the BT - the Deep Strike rule makes assaulting impossible out of a Drop Pod on the turn it arrives.

Sorry.....

jawaballs said...

Bah. Party pooper. Come on September!

RonSaikowski said...

aldonis is correct Im afraid.

The 5ed book says deep striking units (to include those that arive by drop pod) can't assault on the turn the arrive... unless they specifically have a rule saying the can.

Sorry to rain on your parade my friend.

I have played a drop pod Templar army and it can be devastating to your opponent. I ran two dreads as well in it. It's lots of fun.

jawaballs said...

Yah, I hear ya both. But the way I see it is 5th edition says that Deep Strikers cannot assault the turn they land. It also says that Opened Topped vehicles allow units to assault when they disembark. The BT codex lists BT drop pods as opened topped. SOOOO one would reason that the by the rules BT can assault. However aldonis found that an appendix was made to the DA codex correcting this? No big at this point. But if the rumors hold true and Space Marines are able to assault from drop pods, I will be doing the drop pod army. (as will 900009809 other players) I use two furioso dreads from drop pods in my army now. Assault will make them that much sweeter!

Kevin said...

but in the newer marine codexes (DA and BA) you no longer MUST pile out of the pod on the turn it lands. So you can stay inside and rapid fire for a turn and get ready for a next turn assault.

If they blow up the pod, you pile out within 2", don't get entangled and can move and assault 6" the next turn.

Or they ignore the pod, in which cased you can hop out 2", and then still move and assault 6".

14" charge from the pods? pretty good for something that can safely land 1" away from the enemy and is immune to small arms fire. Not too shabby..

jawaballs said...

So I can drop my two pods with Furioso Dreads in them, stay inside and fire my melta and flamer, then the next turn pile out 2, move 6, shoot, then assault?

jawaballs said...

Just checked the BA codex and confirmed that BA pods are Opened Topped as well. Most of you probably new that, I didnt. :) Now I need to confirm in the rule book that I dont need to disembark the dread when it lands. People are going to question that next time I do it. Any one got a page number?

docrailgun said...

The UK download of the BA codex unfortunately says that "all passengers must immediately disembark (they may not assault that turn)." I don't see a difference when I download it from the US site.
I wonder if I should write to them and ask them to remove the mention in the FAQ at the end of the document that the DC is a "normal scoring unit"?

jawaballs said...

In the new rulebook, there is a "may" in there when talking about disembarking from vehicles that deep strike and no "must" that I could find. So while it does say that a deep striking vehicle is counted as moving at cruising speed thus stopping any passengers from fireing out, it means that passengers can choose to remain embarked for the turn that they land, on the next turn they deploy 2 inches, move 6, fire, then assault.

docrailgun said...

I would love to agree with you, but I was under the impression that the various Codexes trump the general rules so long as the Codex is current.

I think there's a need for a FAQ entry... maybe it'll be in the new SM book? I hope.

jawaballs said...

As best I can come up with here is how they work. When the drop pod lands you MAY disembark meaning you MAY stay inside. It does not say in the BA codex or 5th edition rule book that Drop Pod passengers MUST disembark on the turn they land. However, it does say in the 5th edition rule book that vehicles using the Deep Strike rule to enter the battle are considered as moving at Cruising Speed. Cruising Speed goes on to state that passengers may not fire if a vehicle has gone that fast. So the best I can come up with is that my Dread can land in the pod, stay inside, NOT fire its guns. However, next turn it may disembark 2" (any where from the pod), move 6, fire all its guns, then assault because in the codex drop pods are listed as Open Topped. Rule Mongers?

docrailgun said...

Actually, the BA Codex (I just checked it again on the GW site) says in the entry on Drop Pods -
"After the Drop Pod lands, all passengers must immediately disembark (they may not assault that turn). No models can embark on it for the rest of the game."

However, they are open-topped. Also, the drop pod's "Intertial Guidance System" says that it "May reduce the scatter distance by the minimum required to avoid landing in impassible terrain or on top of another model"... doesn't that mean that a drop pod is much less likely to end up with a deepstrike mishap?

jawaballs said...

Yah the inertial Guidance means that the only way it can mishap is by scattering off the table. But I cant find this must disembark rule in my BA codex. Maybe they changed it online since I printed it out? What page is that on?

jawaballs said...

Ahhh Ha! The codex as it appears on the site now is different from what I printed out months back. There is no mention in the printout I have about mandatory disembark. Holy confusion! But you are right and plain as day! That sucks.

Post a Comment